Check out our Blog

Chinese New Year Part 1 – The Chinese Zodiac

The origins of the 12 animals in the cycle derive from a legend about Buddha who invited all the animals to join him for New Year’s Day. Only 12 animals turn up, and Buddha rewarded them by naming a year for each one in order of their arrival. This was rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and pig.

The Chinese Horoscope is also used to provide information about a person’s character. The monkey is known to be intelligent and shrewd, whilst the ox is known to be a hardworker.

This year, we have a series of the 12 animal zodiac in coasters and boxes. Have the box for your keepsakes, or give them to a friend.

Do you know someone born in the year of the tiger, which is this new 2010 year’s zodiac sign? My son will be (I am pregnant right now), and these are characteristics about him:

The Tiger is said to be lucky vivid, lively and engaging. Another attribute of the Tiger is his incredible bravery, evidenced in his willingness to engage in battle or his undying courage. Maybe he’s so brave because he is so lucky. But the Chinese say a Tiger having a Tiger in the house is the very best protection against the evils of fire, burglary.

Some of the key characteristics of the Tiger are:

Courage, Vehemence, Self-Reliance, Friendliness, Hopefulness, Resilience, Vanity, Disregard

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
No TweetBacks yet. (Be the first to Tweet this post)

Leave a Reply